PHP 5.2.4/5.2.5 on Leopard… (–with-mysql problem)

November 26, 2007 § 5 Comments

is pretty much neutered. It doesn’t have a lot of extensions that I need such as: curl, mysql (this is the big one), pdo, etc, etc…

Update: It seems like I did not went through a clean-wiped-out install when installing Leopard. Many of my old development tool directories stayed the same, but some are different. PHP happens to be one of the few that’s different.

That sucks… O well, all I have to do is rebuild PHP 5.2.4/5.2.5 from source (+ all the extensions that I want) right?

WRONG!!! Big Fat Wrong!

I cannot even do:

./configure -–with-mysql=/usr/local/mysql

After that I got this console message:

configure: error: -–with-mysql=/usr/local/mysql: invalid option; use –help to show usage

Huh? Why? WTF?

There are plenty of people complaining about the exact same problem, but no one seemed to have the answers.

Can anyone help me? Can anyone points me to the working PHP 5.2.4/5.2.5 source?

Please…

§ 5 Responses to PHP 5.2.4/5.2.5 on Leopard… (–with-mysql problem)

  • bleh says:

    1.) According to phpinfo(), the pre-installed version of PHP that comes with my copy of Leopard has all three of the extensions you mention.

    2.) I tried copying and pasting the command you tried into Terminal while in a php 5.2.5 source directory and got the same error you did. I notice that the second dash character is not a normal ASCII “-” but some sort of higher-number em-dash or en-dash. Try this instead:

    ./configure –with-mysql=/usr/local/mysql

  • bleh says:

    Gah! The comment system “interpreted” the two dashes in front of “with-mysql” as a single character.

  • didip says:

    @bleh:

    Yeah, wordpress interpret some characters.

    What you were suggesting was ./configure *dash*dash*with*dash*mysql=/usr/local/mysql right?

    That’s exactly what I did.

    Also, are you who I think you are?

  • didip says:

    You are right Bleh!

    One of my dash was not right. I was copy and pasting from my own blog, and the dash was interpreted differently.

    Now I have different problem, which I will tell separately.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading PHP 5.2.4/5.2.5 on Leopard… (–with-mysql problem) at RAPD.

meta

