Zend_View…

July 24, 2007 § 3 Comments

Seems kind of weak to me.

Disclaimer: I’ve been developing a web application using Zend Framework for quite a while now (couple of months).

Couple of points why it is weak:

Using Zend_View is quite a labor. I have to setScriptPath() manually for various .phtml that’s located not in the standard location. Of course readers might wonder, why would I want to place .phtml files in NON-default places? Please see the next point below.

In RoR and CakePHP, inserting a block of view inside another view page is a breeze. Zend_View doesn’t have render_partial() or anything remotely close to that. In order to make my extended View object have renderPartial(…), I need to call setScriptPath() to include the inner view element.

Another “I cannot believe they didn’t have it” moment, Zend_View has no capability of setting global layout. Again, I have to implement such function in my extended View object.

Granted, extending Zend_View object is pretty simple job. Thus, it is not something to get mad about. But it would be nice to have out-of-th-box experience like Ruby on Rails.

Overall, Zend_View is definitely lagging behind its competitors.

§ 3 Responses to Zend_View…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Zend_View… at RAPD.

meta

