Zend Framework… (Part 1)

June 5, 2007 § 1 Comment

Is intriguing and disappointing (a bit) at the same time.

Disclaimer:

This is just part 1 of what’s going to be an ongoing reviews. I decided to do the review this way because I realize that 1-2 days is definitely not going to do the framework justice. The review would take weeks at the very least.

So, let’s talk about why it is intriguing:

It’s web development framework from the official PHP folks. Of course it’s gonna be great. There are lots of PHP developers who are excited with this very thought, me included. Granted I’m late in the party.

Zend framework finally reached version 1.0, it seems to be ready for prime time? Let’s give it a shot.

Reading at the manual and the source code a bit, everything is a component in Zend Framework. Awesome! It seems to have everything I need and more. Once I understand how the component gets called, I’m sure I can develop a component that’s also plug n play in CakePHP. One component to rule the web!

Lastly, My my my… The directory structure is very familiar. Reminds me of RoR and CakePHP… especially CakePHP.

Now let’s talk about what makes me iffy at first:

I swim in RoR, CakePHP style framework for quite some times now. Somehow, I’m starting to like to be hand-held. I know, i know, that sounds bad. Software developer must make their own tools! With their own conventions! and their own configurations! I’m a bad developer for wanting the tools to spoil me.

Ok, enough with the guilt trip. Zend Framework doesn’t force me anything. It seems that I would have to write my own index.php, initialize the Zend_Db or Zend_Cache myself. Not a big deal, I’ll just have to get used to the new mind set.

But that doesn’t mean Zend doesn’t have any conventions. From some tutorials I saw IndexAction function name inside Zend_Controller. That’s an interesting naming convention. Reminds me of Struts Action in JAVA world (Shivers…….).

But what would be the real kicker is:

How performant is it? I haven’t been able to find some data that shows the performance capacity of Zend Framework. If readers have some data, or personal experience with it, please share those to me 🙂

I have yet to see what it can deliver better than CakePHP. But! (This is a big But) This is just the first review. I have yet to complete an application with it.

Stay tuned. Second review will come after I created a blog engine with it and stress test it. That being said the second review would be about performance.

§ One Response to Zend Framework… (Part 1)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Zend Framework… (Part 1) at RAPD.

meta

