Lesson I learned from Mingle2: The dating Site…

May 15, 2007 § 1 Comment

On how to be uber-productive in using my time for developing web application at home.

Sometimes, when day job became mundane, building app at home can certainly bring satisfaction back to my programming life. Unfortunately, building app at home faces the challanges of:

  • Me being overwhelmed because the task seemingly daunting and huge.
  • Attack of the unwanted la-la-land imagination on how the app would be big and grand and well known.
  • Building the app without purpose, basically, I’m building the app just for the sake of technical curiosity.

Mingle2 is the runner-up of SEOmoz’s Web 2.0 Award in Social Networking category.

The creator’s blog, which you can read here, explains how he built a complete full-feature dating site in only 66.5 hours. THAT, is very impressive.

I will quotes some of his experience here in this blog:

Identify an Opportunity
I saw an opening and I took it: I knew I could build something better in a very short period of time with almost no overhead. The beauty of this iss that if this site isn’t successful there’s no layoffs, burned VC funding, and I’m ultimately not contributing to another dot-com crash. All I’ve lost is 66.5 hours and a couple bags of coffee beans, I’ll just go back to my day job. “

Well said, after couple of hours googling, if you cannot find what you need… build one. Make it as simple as possible with the goal of full filing you need. Not because you want X millions of dollars from VCs.

Keep. It. Simple. Stupid

Soooo true. Many of his other points stress this one even more. Keep it simple. Make the app so that it does what it supposed to do and nothing else.

Set little itty bitty goals and watch how much you’ll get done
I work a 9-5 job and I normally spend over an hour exercising every night, so when I arrived home around 7pm my work ethic was usually in the gutter. The best tactic I found for motivating myself was to set a very small goal, such as changing some columns in the database or adjusting margins on a certain page. Typically, once this small goal was achieved it would lead into other things and pretty soon I’d gotten three hours worth of solid work done. ”

So true. When I’m done with my 9-5 and when I want programming that’s fun, I need some serious strategy. Personal life still play big role in my life and somehow I should simply find ways to do a little bit of everything. I need to make every minutes worthwhile. I need to set very small goals that can give me instant gratification. Else, programming at home can turn tedious.

You guys just have to check out the original article. Not only that it’s inspiring, but it also act as a reminder for me on how to do fun programming at home.

Sidenote: The application is built with CakePHP. Enough said…

§ One Response to Lesson I learned from Mingle2: The dating Site…

  • Good post. I am new to this whole internet marketing stuff. Having spent years in the traditional world, where solid concepts of building a business have existed for decades and even centuries, it amazes me how the internet world of marketing is a rapidly changing entity. I am finding this to be exhilarating; a lesson that I am learning real fast is that if you COMBINE traditional techniques with the modern ones, the payoff could be higher. Setting small goals and accomplishing them has been always the theme of what I have always done and you have stressed that point again which is reassuring. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Lesson I learned from Mingle2: The dating Site… at RAPD.

meta

